Dear Abby post

Some people are such whiners.  Mr. Loser here writes to Dear Abby the following:

DEAR ABBY: I’m a gay 44-year-old man with self-esteem problems. I have never seen myself as worthy of affection, and I don’t consider myself attractive. I have never been in a relationship, and no one outside of my family has ever said “I love you” to me.

I have recently tried to come out of my shell. As a result, the network of people I associate with has tripled — and I think that has compounded my problem. Aside from parties where everyone is invited, I never hear from any of these people. I have only a couple of good friends, people I can talk to.

I have leaned on my friends to try to help me with my problem. But I’m afraid if I keep unloading on them it’ll wear them down, and I don’t want to burden them.

I wish I didn’t feel so worthless. I know part of my problem is the fact that I am unemployed and worried about money. But this is who I have been my whole life. How do I break the cycle and start feeling good about myself? I’m tired of being lonely all the time. — LONELY IN CHICAGO

Know what this reminds me of?  That great GEICO commercial!  You know the one that says that drill sergeants don’t make good therapists:

“… Why don’t we go to Namby-Pamby Land where maybe we can find you some self-esteem, ya jackwagon… Crybaby.” 

Honestly, don’t care if you’re gay or not.  I’m not showing prejudice.  I’ll make fun of you if you’re gay just as quickly as I’ll make fun of you if you’re straight.  Loser.

Leave a Reply

