Job Hunting Over: Success!

My job hunting is over!  Largely due to two reasons:  who I know (networking) and the changes I made to my resume, including matching cover letter, and making my resume an online blog.  (By the way, before finally getting permanently hired, I was getting hits (emails for interviews) solely off my online resume blog.  Instead of attaching a resume and cover letter, I sometimes sent just my blog link.  It worked very well, which is why I listed the site url on my hard copy resume.)

The story:

I noticed a local college was hiring for a financial aid advisor.  I applied, although not happy with the idea of financial aid, but hey—it’s a job and I need one.  So I sent my newly updated resume (see my prior blog under job hunting suggestion), with matching cover letter (I broke the rules and used color on my resume to make it stand out amongst all the rest).  I also now list my online resume blog on my hard copy resume.  Anyway, when I emailed it, I just so happened to blind cc a friend I used to work with—a friend who just so happened to work at the place I had just sent my resume to.

So she emails me back to tell me that I’d like admissions better (true, since it’s my background).  She tells me in the email that, ironically enough for my own timing, there was a group interview tomorrow and suggested that I call the admin person (gave me the name and number) to request that my name be put on the list.  So I did.

Went into the group interview.  At least 5 other people were there that I used to work with.  Hey, this is Portland and Oregon enjoys the number 3 place for the most unemployed people.  Sucks to live here and be unemployed right now, I tell ya!  Probably 40 people altogether in that group interview.  He was hiring for one position and announced it then (the hiring manager).

Long, boring story short, I got the offer at $5,300 more than what I made at my previous job doing the same thing.  Naturally I accepted it and my first day was this past Monday, the 10th of August, 2009.  For those of you lucky enough to be employed all this time, I cannot begin to tell you what an enormous relief it is to finally have a full-time regular job again.  It’s like a humongous weight lifted from your shoulders.  You finally feel like you can start gathering together the tattered shreds of your dignity and self-respect.

I’m vastly relieved and more grateful than some people realize.  I’ve not been able to land a full-time regular job for 2 years and 4 months—exactly.  It’s been pure hell:  I’ve not paid credit cards since November nor a loan I had taken out.  I’m behind on my car payment and now student loans are rearing their ugly heads.  (Lord, help me, it’s Sallie Mae.)  The federal loans I start paying back in January, after a deferment.  Basically, it’s a whole new set of stresses now—trying to figure out the best and fastest way to catch up and try to begin the repair of my totally shot credit history.  But I’d much rather have these stresses, being employed, than not.

Only those who are unemployed for any length of time know what I’m talking about.  It’s bad.  It does get worse before it gets better.  But it does get better.  I waited nearly 2 ½ years, but it came.  Thank you, God!

One Response to “Job Hunting Over: Success!”

  1. YAY!!! I am so happy for you Penny. I am one of those that does not know what it is like to be unemployed, and can only imagine the stresses you have gone through. I think you did an awesome job keeping your head slightly above water, and that alone is something. Best of luck in your new place of employment, get some slackers back in school, and have fun with life! Loves and Hugs ~ Jenn

Leave a Reply

