David Eddings

David Eddings

One of my most favorite fantasy authors of all time, David Eddings, died last month.  He was 77 and was living reclusively at his home in Carson City, Nevada when he died.

He joins his wife and co-author Leigh, who died in 2007 from a series of strokes.  The couple had been married since 1962.

David Eddings left 2/3 of his estate, $18 million, to Reed College in Portland, from which he graduated in 1954.  Another $10 million went to National Jewish Health in Colorado.  It was the largest bequest for both entities in their entire histories.

On a personal note, this just makes me want to cry.  I’ve read and re-read many of his books and, if you love to read, you become attached to the fictional characters you read about.  I love the stories and am in the process of reading the first book in a series (about Sparhawk the knight) again, for the umpteenth time.

Rest in peace, David and Leigh.  Your fans will miss you.

Books by David and/or Leigh Eddings:

Entire Belgarian series:

  • The Belgariad
    • Pawn of Prophecy (1982)
    • Queen of Sorcery (1982)
    • Magician’s Gambit (1983)
    • Castle of Wizardry (1984)
    • Enchanters’ End Game (1984)
  • The Mallorean
    • Guardians of the West (1987)
    • King of the Murgos (1988)
    • Demon Lord of Karanda (1988)
    • Sorceress of Darshiva (1989)
    • Seeress of Kell, the (1991)
  • The Rivan Codex (1999) with Leigh Eddings
  • Belgarath the Sorcerer (1996) with Leigh Eddings
  • Polgara the Sorceress (1997) with Leigh Eddings

Entire Sparhawk series:

  • The Elenium
    • Diamond Throne, the (1989)
    • Ruby Knight, the (1990)
    • Sapphire Rose, the (1991)
  • The Tamuli
    • Domes of Fire (1992)
    • Shining Ones, the (1993)
    • Hidden City, the (1994)

The Dreamers series:

  • The Elder Gods (2003) with Leigh Eddings
  • The Treasured One (2004) with Leigh Eddings
  • Crystal Gorge (2005) with Leigh Eddings
  • The Younger Gods (2006) with Leigh Eddings

Single, stand alone fantasy books:

  • The Redemption of Althalus (2000) with Leigh Eddings

Non-fantasy books:

  • High Hunt (1973)
  • The Losers (1992)
  • Regina’s Song (2000) with Leigh Eddings 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: